Federal Emergency Management Agency

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)

FMA is authorized by Section 1366 of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended (NFIA), 42 U.S.C. 4104c, with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA was created as part of the National Flood Insurance Reform Act (NFIRA) of 1994. The Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-141) consolidated the Repetitive Flood Claims and Severe Repetitive Loss grant programs into FMA. FMA funding is available through the National Flood Insurance Fund (NFIF) for flood hazard mitigation projects as well as plan development and is appropriated by Congress.

Maximum Award Amount

The amount of HMGP funding available to the Applicant is based on the estimated total Federal assistance

Cost Matching


Eligible Applicants

States, territories, and federally-recognized tribes are eligible to apply for FMA funds. Local governments are considered subapplicants and must apply to their Applicant State, territory, or federally-recognized tribe.

Find Out More and Apply